Google introduces Search plus Your World


Today, Google is introducing Search plus Your World for searches on in English. This trio of new search features brings your world, rich with people and information, into search. Search plus Your World helps you find your own stuff on the web, the people you know and things they’ve shared with you, as well as the people you don’t know but might want to … all from one search box.

We’re transforming Google into a search engine that understands not only content, but also people and relationships. We began this transformation with Social Search, and today we’re taking another big step in this direction by introducing these three new features:

  1. Personal Results, which enables you to find information just for you, such as Google+ photos and posts—both your own and those shared specifically with you, that only you will be able to see on your results page;
  2. Profiles in Search, both in autocomplete and results, which enables you to immediately find people you’re close to or might be interested in following; and,
  3. People and Pages, which helps you find people profiles and Google+ pages related to a specific topic or area of interest, and lets you follow them with just a few clicks.

Together, these features combine to create Search plus Your World, which will become available over the next few days to people who are signed in and searching on in English.

Security, transparency and control
We set a high bar for security and privacy for Search plus Your World. Searches by signed-in users on are secured by SSL encryption by default. This means when you’re signed in to Google, your search results—including your private content—are protected by the same high standards of encryption as your messages in Gmail.

We also want to be transparent about how these features work and give you control over how to use them. With today’s changes, we provide visibility and control settings similar to those in Google+. For example, personal results are clearly marked as Public, Limited or Only you.

We’re also introducing a toggle button on the results page that lets you see search results without personal content. With a single click, you can see an unpersonalized view of search results — no results from your friends, no private information and no personalization of results based on your Web History.

This toggle button works for an individual search session, or you can make this the default in your Search Settings.

For more details about Search plus Your World, including a video demonstration and screenshots, visit the Official Google Blog.